Ten-Point Grading Scale Will Apply to All Beginning with 2015-2016 School Year

The NC Board of Education voted today to begin full implementation of a 10 point grading scale with the start of the 2015-2016 school year.

This means that all high school students will earn grades on a ten-point grading scale beginning next year. Initially, the NC BOE planned implementation beginning with next year’s 9th graders.

Grade 10 Point Scale 7 Point Scale GPA
A 90-100 93-100 4.0
B 80-89 85-92 3.0
C 70-79 77-84 2.0
D 60-69 70-77 1.0
F Below 60 69 and below



Students, parents, and superintendents generated a surge of support for full implementation. Most cited examples of high school courses taken by students of multiple grade levels. While most courses in English are taken solely by students in one grade level (English I is taken by 9th graders, English II by 10th graders, and so on), many courses are taken by students in multiple grade levels. Biology may be taken by 10th, 11th, and 12th graders. This is also the case with many Advanced Placement and elective courses.

It would be unfair to award two students, each having the same final course average of 91, two different grades. One would receive and A, the other a B. One earns a 4.0 credit toward a final GPA, the other a 3.0.  Of equal concern are two students with the same final course average of 68. One earns course credit and a D, the other fails the course.

Additionally, course credits and GPA do affect students before graduation. Students must maintain specific academic standing to maintain eligibility for athletic participation as well as Driving Eligibility Certificates as part of North Carolina’s graduated driver’s license program.

Scroll to Top